Dr. Joy Hughes

Consultant - Trauma Surgery
Request an appointment

Dr. Joy Hughes, MD, FACS, ATLS, is a Consultant Trauma Surgeon at Sheikh Shakhbout Medical City (SSMC) in Abu Dhabi.

Dr. Hughes is proficient in both basic and advanced life support and has extensive experience in general surgery, trauma surgery, and critical care. Following her graduation from the University of Mississippi School of Medicine, where she received her Doctor of Medicine (MD) degree, she trained extensively at the world-renowned Mayo Clinic. Possessing extensive experience in both acute and elective surgical procedures, Dr. Hughes obtained her certification in robotic surgery while practicing in the USA. Over the course of her five years of intensive practice, she has published numerous articles in prestigious peer-reviewed journals.

Doctor can help with

  • General surgery
  • Trauma surgery
  • Critical care


  • Fellow of the American College of Surgeons (FACS)
  • Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) Instructor and Course Director

Licences and certifications

  • Certified in Surgery, American Board of Surgery
  • Certified in Critical Care, American Board of Surgery
  • Davinci Robotics Certification
  • Certified, Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS)
  • Certified, Basic Life Support (BLS)
  • Certified, Advanced Burn Life Support (ABLS)

Training and work experience

  • Consultant, Trauma Surgery

    Sheikh Shakhbout Medical City (SSMC), UAE

  • General Surgeon in Private Practice


  • Students on Surgery, Mass Transfusion Protocol Taskforce

    SEHA Critical Care Council

  • Fellowship in Trauma Surgery & Critical Care

    Mayo Clinic, USA

  • General Surgery Residency

    Mayo Clinic, USA


  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    University of Mississippi School of Medicine, USA
  • Bachelor of Arts (BA), Mathematics & English Literature

    Mississippi College, USA

Awards and recognitions

  • Best Scientific Presentation (2019)

    Chest Wall Injury Society Scientific Summit
  • Gold Humanism Honor Society (2012)

  • Summa Cum Laude with High Honors Distinction (2006)

    Mississippi College


Powered by Ajaxy